discover more

Grands crus classés en 1855 Médoc & Sauternes

The history of this classification

At the Exposition Universelle of 1855 in Paris, Emperor Napoleon III asked each wine region to establish a classification.

The turning point

The Bordeaux Chamber of Commerce and Industry, founded in 1705, began that process for the Gironde.


Reputation of the wines and their transaction prices

Special labeling

This classification included only red wines from the Médoc, the Sauternes and Barsac sweet white wines, and one Graves red cru.


For reds:

60 crus from the Médoc and 1 cru from Pessac-Léognan (Château Haut-Brion) based on five categories: 5 Premiers Crus, 14 Deuxièmes Crus, 14 Troisièmes Crus, 10 Quatrièmes Crus, 18 Cinquièmes Crus.

For sweet whites:

27 crus of the Sauternes and Barsac appellations: 1 Premier Cru Supérieur, 11 Premiers Crus, 15 Deuxièmes Crus.

Sole revision:

In 1973, the promotion of Château Mouton Rothschild from the rank of Deuxième Grands Cru Classé to that of Premier Grand Cru Classé (Médoc).

For red wines, the 1855 classification, revised in 1973, has one cru from Graves and 60 from the Médoc, distributed as follows:


Château Haut-Brion, Pessac, AOC Pessac-Léognan

Château Lafite-Rothschild, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Latour, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Margaux, Margaux, AOC Margaux

Château Mouton Rothschild, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac


Château Brane-Cantenac, Cantenac, AOC Margaux

Château Cos-d’Estournel, Saint-Estèphe, AOC Saint-Estèphe

Château Ducru-Beaucaillou, Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, AOC Saint-Julien

Château Durfort-Vivens, Margaux, AOC Margaux

Château Gruaud-Larose, Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, AOC Saint-Julien

Château Lascombes, Margaux, AOC Margaux

Château Léoville-Barton, Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, AOC Saint-Julien

Château Léoville-Las-Cases, Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, AOC Saint-Julien

Château Léoville-Poyferré, Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, AOC Saint-Julien

Château Montrose, Saint-Estèphe, AOC Saint-Estèphe

Château Pichon-Longueville-Baron-de-Pichon, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Pichon-Longueville-Comtesse-de-Lalande, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux, AOC Margaux

Château Rauzan-Gassies, Margaux, AOC Margaux


Château Boyd-Cantenac, Cantenac, AOC Margaux

Château Calon-Ségur, Saint-Estèphe, AOC Saint-Estèphe

Château Cantenac-Brown, Cantenac, AOC Margaux

Château Desmirail, Margaux, AOC Margaux

Château Ferrière, Margaux, AOC Margaux

Château Giscours, Labarde, AOC Margaux

Château d’Issan, Cantenac, AOC Margaux

Château Kirwan, Cantenac, AOC Margaux

Château Lagrange, Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, AOC Saint-Julien

Château La Lagune, Ludon, AOC Haut-Médoc

Château Langoa-Barton, Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, AOC Saint-Julien

Château Malescot-Saint-Exupéry, Margaux, AOC Margaux

Château Marquis-d’Alesme, Margaux, AOC Margaux

Château Palmer, Cantenac, AOC Margaux


Château Beychevelle, Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, AOC Saint-Julien

Château Branaire-Ducru, Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, AOC Saint-Julien

Château Duhart-Milon, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Lafon-Rochet, Saint-Estèphe, AOC Saint-Estèphe

Château Marquis-de-Terme, Margaux, AOC Margaux

Château Pouget, Cantenac, AOC Margaux

Château Prieuré-Lichine, Cantenac, AOC Margaux

Château Saint-Pierre, Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, AOC Saint-Julien

Château Talbot, Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, AOC Saint-Julien

Château La Tour-Carnet, Saint-Laurent-de-Médoc, AOC Haut-Médoc


Château d’Armailhac, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Batailley, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Belgrave, Saint-Laurent-de-Médoc, AOC Haut-Médoc

Château Camensac, Saint-Laurent-de-Médoc, AOC Haut-Médoc

Château Cantemerle, Macau, AOC Haut-Médoc

Château Clerc-Milon, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Cos-Labory, Saint-Estèphe, AOC Saint-Estèphe

Château Croizet-Bages, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Dauzac, Labarde, AOC Margaux

Château Grand-Puy-Ducasse, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Grand-Puy-Lacoste, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Haut-Bages-Libéral, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Haut-Batailley, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Lynch-Bages, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Lynch-Moussas, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Pédesclaux, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château Pontet-Canet, Pauillac, AOC Pauillac

Château du Tertre, Arsac, AOC Margaux

For sweet white wines, the classification has 26 Sauternes and Barsac crus, distributed as follows:


Château d’Yquem, Sauternes, AOC Sauternes


Château Climens, Barsac, AOC Barsac

Clos Haut-Peyraguey, Bommes, AOC Sauternes

Château Coutet, Barsac, AOC Barsac

Château Guiraud, Sauternes, AOC Sauternes

Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey, Bommes, AOC Sauternes

Château Rabaud-Promis, Bommes, AOC Sauternes

Château Rayne-Vigneau, Bommes, AOC Sauternes

Château Rieussec, Fargues-de-Langon, AOC Sauternes

Château Sigalas-Rabaud, Bommes, AOC Sauternes

Château Suduiraut, Preignac, AOC Sauternes

Château La Tour-Blanche, Bommes, AOC Sauternes


Château d’Arche, Sauternes, AOC Sauternes

Château Broustet, Barsac, AOC Barsac

Château Caillou, Barsac, AOC Barsac

Château Doisy-Daëne, Barsac, AOC Barsac

Château Doisy-Dubroca, Barsac, AOC Barsac

Château Doisy-Védrines, Barsac, AOC Barsac

Château Filhot, Sauternes, AOC Sauternes

Château Lamothe (Despujols), Sauternes, AOC Sauternes

Château Lamothe-Guignard, Sauternes, AOC Sauternes

Château de Malle, Preignac, AOC Sauternes

Château de Myrat, Barsac, AOC Barsac

Château Nairac, Barsac, AOC Barsac

Château Romer-du-Hayot, Fargues-de-Langon, AOC Sauternes

Château Romer, Fargues-de-Langon, AOC Sauternes

Château Suau, Barsac, AOC Barsac

The Sauternes and Barsac crus classés also have significant economic importance, as they cover 45% of the surface area of ​​their appellation and are responsible for 30% of its production.

Discover MORE

Grape varieties




Animals in the vineyard